NEWS

2015 Readers' Choice Award Winners Announced

The results are in! Here are the winners of our 2015 Readers' Choice Awards - as voted by you, our readers.

The votes are in – more than 2,200 of them! The winners of our 11th annual Readers’ Choice Awards represent the best races, businesses, places and events as decided by you, our readers. Where applicable, Readers’ Choice Awards are presented in three geographic regions: Eastern Canada (Ontario, Quebec and Atlantic Canada), Western Canada (Alberta, B.C., Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Yukon, Nunavut and the Northwest Territories) and National. Awards in the National category represent events or organizations with at least one event/operation in both the Eastern Canada and Western Canada divisions. Winners in the National category are not eligible to win a regional award. Where there are no votes or a multi-way tie (with more than four winners), no winner is indicated. Congratulations to all of our 2015 award winners.

Best Adventure Race
Eastern Canada: Storm the Trent www.stormthetrent.com
Western Canada: The Swamp Donkey www.swampdonkeyar.com

Best Charity Training Program
Team in Training www.teamintraining.ca

Best Cross Country Ski Race / Event
Eastern Canada: Canadian Ski Marathon http://csm-mcs.com/
Western Canada: Canadian Birkebeiner www.canadianbirkie.com

Best Cross Country Ski Facility
Eastern Canada: Hardwood Ski and Bike www.hardwoodskiandbike.ca
Western Canada: Whiteshell Cross Country Ski Club www.whiteshellskiclub.com

Best Cycling Club
Eastern Canada: Toronto Bicycling Network www.tbn.ca
Western Canada: Golden Cycling Club www.goldencyclingclub.com  

Best Event T-Shirt
Eastern Canada: Ultra-Trail Harricana http://harricana.info/en/
Western Canada: Sinister 7 www.sinister7.com

Best Health/Fitness Club
National: GoodLife Fitness www.goodlifefitness.com
Eastern Canada: Fitt Gym www.fittgym.com
Western Canada: Johnny B Fitt Fitness Centre www.johnnybfitt.ca

Best Lap Swimming Pool
Eastern Canada: U of T Athletic Centre www.utoronto.ca
Western Canada: Kitsilano Pool www.vancouver.ca

Best Marathon
Eastern Canada: Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Marathon www.torontowaterfrontmarathon.com
Western Canada: BMO Vancouver Marathon www.bmovanmarathon.ca

Best Masters Swim Club
Eastern Canada: North Toronto Masters Swim Club www.swimordie.ca
Western Canada: UBC Masters Swim Club www.ubcmasters.com

Best Mountain Biking Event/Race
Eastern Canada: 24 Hours of Summer Solstice www.chicoracing.com
Western Canada: 24 Hours of Falcon Ridge www.24hoursoffalconridge.com tied with 24 Hours of Adrenalin www.24hoursofadrenalin.com

Best Mountain Biking Facility
Eastern Canada: Hardwood Ski and Bike www.hardwoodskiandbike.ca
Western Canada: Whistler Mountain Bike Park http://bike.whistlerblackcomb.com/

Best Obstacle / Mud Racing Event
National Series: Spartan Race www.spartanrace.ca
Eastern Canada: MetConBlue www.metconrace.com 
Western Canada: Dirty Donkey Mud Run www.dirtydonkeyrun.com

Best Colour Run
National Series: Color Me Rad www.colormerad.com

Best Off-Road Triathlon
National: XTERRA www.xterracanada.com
Eastern Canada: Cataraqui Adventure Trek  www.racethecat.ca
Western Canada: Edmonton River Valley Offroad Triathlon www.ervtri.com

Best Orienteering Event/Race
Eastern Canada: Raid the Hammer www.dontgetlost.ca
Western Canada: Manitoba Orienteering Festival www.orienteering.mb.ca

Best Outdoors Store:
National: Mountain Equipment Co-op www.mec.ca
Eastern Canada: Algonquin Outfitters www.algonquinoutfitters.com  
Western Canada: Wilderness Supply www.wildernesssupply.ca

Best Personal Trainer
Eastern Canada:  Elaine McCrea www.therunnersshop.com
Western Canada: Kim Ogren, Kim’s Kickin’ Fit http://on.fb.me/1HAnzaT

Best Piece of Sports Gear or Apparel
Buff www.buffcanada.com

Best Place to Buy a Bike
Eastern Canada: Gears Bike Shop www.gearsbikeshop.com
Western Canada: Different Bikes www.differentbikes.ca  

Best Place to Buy Running Shoes
National: The Running Room www.runningroom.com
Eastern Canada: The Runners Shop www.therunnersshop.com
Western Canada: Fast Trax Run and Ski Shop www.fasttraxskishop.com

Best Place to Buy Tri Gear
Eastern Canada: Enduro Sport www.endurosport.com
Western Canada: Tri It Multisport www.tri-it.ca

Best Place to Do a Spin Class
National: GoodLife Fitness www.goodlifefitness.com
Eastern Canada: Quad Spinning www.quadspin.com
Western Canada: Method www.methodindoorcycling.com 

Best Place to go with a Sports Injury
Eastern Canada: Athletes Care www.athletescare.com
Western Canada: Lac du Bonnet Physiotherapy

Best Post-Race Party
National: Spartan Race www.spartanrace.ca  
Eastern Canada: Band on the Run www.bandontherun.ca  
Western Canada: Electric Donkey Run www.electricdonkeyrun.com

Best Race Kit
Eastern Canada: Muskoka River X www.muskokariverx.com
Western Canada: That Dam Race https://thatdamrace.wordpress.com/

Best Road Cycling Race/Event
National: Cycle for Sight www.cycleforsight.ca
Eastern Canada: Centurion www.centurioncycling.com
Western Canada: Tour of Alberta www.tourofalberta.ca  

Best Road Triathlon
National: Ironman www.ironman.com
Eastern Canada: Niagara Falls Barrelman www.niagarafallstriathlon.com
Western Canada: Hecla Triathlon www.heclatri.com  

Best Run Club
National: The Running Room www.runningroom.com
Eastern Canada: Tribe Fitness www.facebook.com/tribefitnesstoronto
Western Canada: Lions Gate Road Runners www.lgrr.com

Best Road Running Race (non-marathon)
Eastern Canada: Band on the Run www.bandontherun.ca
Western Canada: Winnipeg Police Services Half Marathon www.wpshalfmarathon.ca

Best Ski Hill
Eastern Canada: Blue Mountain Resort www.bluemountain.ca
Western Canada: Whistler Blackcomb www.whistlerblackcomb.com

Best Snowshoe Race / Event
Eastern Canada: Don’t Get Lost Snowshoe Raid www.dontgetlost.ca
Western Canada: The Yeti – Snowshoe Racing Series www.theyeti.ca

Best Sports Drink
Gatorade www.gatorade.ca

Best Sport Nutrition Food
GORP Clean Energy Bar www.gorpworld.com

Best SUP Race
Eastern Canada: Muskoka River X www.muskokariverx.com
Western Canada: Kalamalka Classic www.kalamalkaclassic.com

Best Trail/Ultra Run
National: 5 Peaks Trail Running Series www.5peaks.com
Eastern Canada: UTHC Harricana www.harricana.info
Western Canada: Sinister 7 Ultra www.sinister7.com

Best Winter Race:
National: Hypothermic Half Marathon www.runningroom.com
Eastern Canada: Chilly Half Marathon www.chillyhalfmarathon.ca   
Western Canada: Ice Donkey www.swampdonkeyar.com

Best Indoor Climbing Gym
Eastern Canada: Clip ‘N Climb http://www.altitudegym.ca/en/clip/
Western Canada: Vertical Adventures www.verticaladventures.com

Best Urban Race
National: City Chase www.citychase.ca
Eastern Canada: Mud Hero Urban www.mudhero.com
Western Canada: Pain in the ASSiniboine www.swampdonkeyar.com

Best Sports Photography Company
Epic Action www.epicactionimagery.com

Best Outdoor Festival
Eastern Canada: Band on the Run www.bandontherun.ca
Western Canada: Fire & Water Music Festival www.firenwater.ca 

Comments

Race Reviews

Race reports from running races, triathlons, duathlons, adventure races, obstacles runs, bike races and more!

VIEW ALL

Motivation

“If you can dream it you can achieve it.”

More motivation on Facebook